Brian’s Blog: How Much Social Media Is Too Much? (and some random thoughts)

 The question I pose in the title of this blog is a massive can of worms just waiting to be opened; how much social media is too much?

 As a part of my job, I am encouraged to have a presence in social media. I am encouraged to leave a positive footprint and encouraged to use social media to develop a connection with my family, friends, listeners and viewers. And given the technological advances that are being made….almost daily…I understand social media’s value and worth. This isn’t going to be one of those blogs that criticizes and downgrades social media as being something that will lead to the downfall of society and the end of humanity as we know it.

 That being said, again, I think it is smart and wise to pose the question: how much social media is too much?

 As I sit here, I can think of several different social media applications that I use daily. If you want to find me on Twitter, you can. If you would like to follow my work on KSFY-HD in Sioux Falls, you can do that as well by liking my professional Facebook page. You can see some of my work (past and present) by looking or subscribing to my YouTube channel. I am well connected professionally, and you can check that out by visiting by LinkedIn profile. And so on and so forth.

 But, is it too much?

 For example, I place value on having all those accounts and others. But as you sit there reading those words, how many of those above links would you seriously click on and follow up on? Do you want to follow me on Twitter? Do you want to follow me on Facebook? LinkedIn? YouTube? Et cetera?

 I know from the weekly reports I receive on these accounts that people are finding and connecting with me. And I am not doing any type of “advertising” or anything. It is just happening.

 On one hand, it is humbling to think that people would be interested in what I say and what I do. It truly is. I work primarily in TV news but I never think that what I do makes me unique or special or anything like that. In fact, I abhor people who have that attitude. Mass media, specifically news broadcasting, is for the benefit of the public. And those who work in news should never make the mistake that what they do makes them any better or more important than anyone else. My job is different, yes, but it allows for widespread recognition (and if I do my job poorly, widespread criticism).

Random Thoughts

(1) If I had satellite radio, it would constantly be set on the “70’s on 7” channel and I would leave it there. Is there any music better than the 70’s?

(2) The song “Love’s Theme” by Barry White came onto my I Pod today while I was driving around and it brought a smile to my face. Listen and enjoy.

(3) My son Austin is truly my Mother’s revenge on me. Quick, witty and questions everything. It would be admirable if it wasn’t constant and coming from an 8-year-old. Sigh.

(4) Love has a way of making everything better….if you just let it.

(5) Sometimes, photoshop can make you laugh. I saw this today in my Facebook feed and it made me laugh. Rockin’ on the Enterprise!

“I’m not a guitarist Jim….oh wait….”

 Thanks for stopping by and taking a read. It is always appreciated. Here’s hoping you have a good rest of your day.

Leave a comment